Your daily dose of technology

Apple is ‘Jobs’less


This post is kind of different when compared to the rest of my blog. This post is a tribute to Mr. Steve Jobs. 🙂

For all the people that have been living under a rock, the iPodFather, Steve Jobs has resigned from the post of the CEO of Apple Inc. This has left the company and its employees befuddled, confused, amazed, astonished, disoriented and many other words that are going to go above people’s heads..
Even though I have expressed otherwise in my previous blog posts, the man has shaped the tech industry. Very few individuals have had the kind of pull over people (read-FanBoys) that Steve Jobs does.

In a letter to all the Apple employees, Steve Jobs said-

I have always said if there ever came a day when I could no longer meet my duties and expectations as Apple’s CEO, I would be the first to let you know. Unfortunately, that day has come.

I hereby resign as CEO of Apple. I would like to serve, if the Board sees fit, as Chairman of the Board, director and Apple employee.

As far as my successor goes, I strongly recommend that we execute our succession plan and name Tim Cook as CEO of Apple.

I believe Apple’s brightest and most innovative days are ahead of it. And I look forward to watching and contributing to its success in a new role.

I have made some of the best friends of my life at Apple, and I thank you all for the many years of being able to work alongside you.

Steve

Steve may be leaving the position of CEO but, he sure isn’t leaving his brainchild. Steve Jobs is going to stay on as the Chairman of the Board. Though Jobs won’t be able to meet his “duties and expectations”, he will still be able to be part of the important decisions of his company. Steve is going to be able to fiddle around with the new gadgets without taking an active part in the development. Jobs will be able to hold devices as he pleases and will be able to abuse the hell out of the engineers (Not that he didn’t do that before). He won’t be able to give those AMAZING keynotes but, he will surely be able to work silently in the background. The one thing I loved about him was his oratory skills. He spoke exactly like Mark Antony (of Julius Caesar fame) and I absolutely adored that. He had the audience hanging onto each and every word that came out of his mouth. I’m gonna miss that. Honestly. 🙂

Over time, Jobs has become an amazing, inexplicable and sometimes even eccentric personality. But, that sure doesn’t take away the effect he has had on the technology we use today. Apple is going to feel the hangover very soon. Even though almost everyone knew that this would happen someday, the most astounding surprise was Jobs’ announcement that the COO Tim Cook is going to take over the reins of the big behemoth that is known as Apple, as CEO for the coming years.

Other tech companies have set targets for as far as 2018.  Companies working on stuff like nuclear power and all have decades mapped out! And for that, you need brilliant leaders who have the ability to think far and dream. Jobs had both. And, in abundance. With the CEO, Jobs is going to leave a sketch of sorts for him to follow in the next five years. Whether or not he is around is upto him but, he isn’t going to leave them without setting a course for them!

As an Android and Windows user, I would like to thank Steve Jobs. Thank you for being the “Evil Empire” that I love to hate. As much as I hate your products (except the iPod), they always were and will always remain the next big thing. You always pushed the limit for mobile devices. Without the iPhone, my Android would not be what it is today.
A lot of people think that Apple stifles competition, but I kinda disagree. Look at all the size-zero laptops out there. Look at how powerful Android hardware has become. Mr. Jobs, you took a dying company and made it into one of the most successful venture in history. You are a visionary.

“Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn’t matter to me. Going to bed at night saying we’ve done something wonderful, that’s what matters to me” – Steve Jobs

5 responses

  1. Apple without Steve Jobs is tasteless

    August 27, 2011 at 8:46 AM

  2. love d last quote.
    ‘iCon steve jobs’ was THE only tech book id ever read n he of all ppl in dis world had to go and resign.
    dang!

    August 28, 2011 at 3:32 PM

    • LOL 😀

      August 29, 2011 at 2:47 PM

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Apple still has Jobs as a Chairman. He is still doing “magic” with Walt Disney World as the majority share holder. YOu don’t have to be a CEO to be successful 😀

    August 30, 2011 at 6:31 AM

  4. I’m an iFan, an ardent Apple fan. Really felt bad after Steve Jobs resigned. I admire him, for the kind of visionary he is,for the amazing revolution he has brought into the technology world…No one can fill in the vacuum created by him 🙂

    August 31, 2011 at 7:24 PM

What are your views on this post?

